EDFAction Praises Eleven House Members for Sponsorship of GOP Conservation Resolution

September 17, 2015
Sharyn Stein, sstein@edfaction.org, (202) 572-3396

EDFAction today applauded a group of eleven Republican lawmakers for seeking new policy solutions to climate change.

Rep. Chris Gibson (R-NY-19) and ten other Republican lawmakers introduced H. Res. 424 today. The measure calls on the House to commit to working on economically viable solutions that address the threat of climate change, saying it is “a conservative principle to protect, conserve, and be good stewards of our environment.”

The co-sponsors to the resolution are Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Rep. Dave Reichert (R-WA-8), Rep. Bob Dold (R-IL-10), Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY-22), Rep. Patrick Meehan (R-PA-7), Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick (R-PA-8), Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL-27), Rep. Ryan Costello (R-PA-6), Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21), and Rep. Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02).

“We applaud their leadership. The national conversation about climate change solutions will be richer for their ideas and participation,” said EDFAction president Elizabeth Thompson.